At a glance: As a mobile advertiser, you'll want to understand invoice content and how to calculate conversions.
You already know that AppsFlyer provides you with invaluable information to optimize your ad spend and boost your marketing ROI. And, that AppsFlyer's service also includes data collection, analysis, dashboards, advanced-linking and deep-linking solutions, professional and dedicated support, and much more.
Now, in case you've wondered, let's look at factors that find their way into your monthly invoice.
What's in an invoice?
If you are a client with an AppsFlyer package, which includes a given set of features and services, you know in advance the cost of your monthly package and this is reflected in your invoice.
Exception: Basic Pay-Per-Use (PPU) package
If you include premium AppsFlyer features in your package, their cost is added to the monthly package rate.
The main factor, which can cause changes to your monthly invoice, is the number of conversions AppsFlyer attributes for you. It doesn't matter if you have a basic PPU or an advanced package, the number of conversions can affect the invoice bottom line.
AppsFlyer considers these events to be conversions:
All attributed new app installs
Engage existing users in a retargeting campaign that leads to app launches
Engage former users in a retargeting campaign that leads to new installs and app launches
How to calculate monthly conversions?
Check and calculate the number of conversions billed to your account during the previous month.
To calculate conversions for each app:
- Go to the Overview dashboard, open the date-picker filter, and select Last Month.
- Set Media Source and Geo filters to All.
- Note the number of non-organic installs.
- Go to Re-targeting in the menu bar.
- Note the number of re-targeting conversions (= re-attributions + re-engagements)
- Calculate the total number of conversions: Add together non-organic installs (step 3) and re-targeting conversions (step 5).
Gobroke, an electronic wallet service, has a basic AppsFlyer PPU package with no premium features.
In December, Gobroke ran a number of burst retargeting campaigns with these results:
- 80K new app installs
- 35K re-attributions
- 105K re-engagements
- Total: 220K conversions
According to PPU package pricing, conversion costs are as follows:
- 0-100K conversions at $0.05 per conversion
- Next 100K at $0.04
- Next 100K and more at $0.03
Therefore, the expected invoice sum for 220K conversions is ($0.05*100K) + ($0.04*100K) + ($0.03*20K) = $9600
Webflix, a known streaming service, has a "Uranium" package that costs $10K monthly and includes 300K conversions.
- The cost of each additional conversion is $0.025.
- Also, Webflix pays $7K monthly for Audiences and Pivot table premium features.
In November, Webflix had 270K conversions:
- 270K conversions are covered by their monthly package.
- $7K is paid for premium features.
- Therefore, the expected invoice sum for this period is the fixed amount of $17K.
In December, Webflix had 420K conversions:
- 300K are covered by their monthly package.
- 120K are charged at $0.025 per conversion.
- Therefore, the expected invoice sum for this period is ($10K+$7K) + (420K-300K)*$0.025 = $20K
Features you don't pay for...
These features are included in your package:
- Organic installs attribution
- Clicks and impressions recording
- Attribution link generation
- Deep-linking, deferred deep-linking, OneLink URLs
- Sessions recording
- Cost, revenue, and ROI analytics
- Multi-touch attribution (assisted installs)
- Uninstall attribution
- Re-targeting attribution analytics
- Ad revenue attribution
- Retention and Cohort reports
- Aggregated performance reports
- AppsFlyer support services
These features may be included, but may be limited according to your package:
- In-app events recording
- Live alerts
- Custom dashboards
- Adding new apps
- Adding new team members
- Monthly active users cap (MAU)