As a mobile advertiser, you already know that AppsFlyer provides you with invaluable information, to optimize your ad spend and boost your marketing ROI.
You also know that AppsFlyer's service includes the data collection, analysis, dashboards, advanced linking and deep linking solutions, professional and dedicated support, and much more.
Yet, you may have wondered which factors find their way to your monthly invoice.
What's in the invoice?
1. Package price
As an AppsFlyer client, you have a service package, which includes a set of AppsFlyer's features and services.
Except for the basic Pay-Per-Use (PPU) package, the monthly cost of the package is known in advance. Accounts with monthly payments can also see that amount in their invoices.
2. Premium features
Depending on your service package, there may be some additional premium AppsFlyer features, which you pay for beyond your package's price.
The main factor that may cause fluctuations in your monthly invoice is the number of conversions AppsFlyer attributes for you. Whether your account has the basic PPU or advanced package, the number of conversions may affect the invoice's bottom line.
AppsFlyer considers only the following 3 events as conversions:
All attributed new app installs
Engagements of your existing users with your retargeting campaigns, which result in app launches
Engagements of your past users with your retargeting campaigns, which result in new installs and app launches
How to calculate the monthly number of conversions?
If you want to check and calculate how many conversions your account was billed for in the previous month, follow these steps for each of your apps:
- In the overview page select the Last Month option of the Date Selection widget
- Set the Media Source and Geo filters to All
- Grab the non-organic installs number
- Select the Retargeting link on the left bar
- Grab the Retargeting conversions number (equals re-attributions + re-engagements)
- Sum up the numbers from 3 and 5
Gobroke, an electronic wallet service, has a basic PPU package with AppsFlyer, with no premium features.
During December, Gobroke runs many burst retargeting campaigns, so December results are 80K new app installs, 35K re-attributions and 105K re-engagements, to a total of 220K conversions.
According to the PPU package pricing, the cost of the first 100K conversions is $0.05 per conversion, $0.04 for the next 100K and $0.03 onwards. Therefore, the expected invoice sum is:
$0.05*100,000 + $0.04*100,000 + $0.03*20,000 = $9600
Webflix, a known streaming service, has the "Uranium" package, which costs $10K monthly, and has 300K conversions included. The cost for each additional conversion is $0.025. In addition, Webflix pays monthly $7K for the Audiences and Pivot Table premium features.
During November Webflix had 270K conversions, which are already included in the package. Therefore, the expected invoice sum for December is the fixed amount of $17K.
During December Webflix had 420K conversions, which are 120K above the included quantity of the package. Therefore, the expected invoice sum for December is:
$17K + (420K-300K)*$0.025 = $20K
What you are not paying for
The following is a partial list of AppsFlyer features you have, but are NOT paying for:
- Organic installs attribution
- Clicks and impressions recording
- Attribution links generation
- Deep linking, deferred deep linking, OneLink URLs
- Sessions recording
- Cost, revenue and ROI analytics
- Multi-touch attribution (assisted installs)
- Uninstall attribution
- Retargeting attribution analytics
- Ad revenue attribution
- Retention and Cohort reports
- Aggregated performance reports
- AppsFlyer's support services
The following features are also NOT paid for, but may be limited according to your package:
- In-app events recording
- Live alerts
- Custom dashboards
- Adding new apps
- Adding new team members
- MAU - Monthly active users cap