Cohort dashboard

At a glance: The Cohort dashboard groups app users by acquisition date. Perform performance analysis across user life-cycles. Use the dashboard to gain insights as to how campaign differences alter campaign metrics. 

Revenue by days post-install broken down by media source 


Cohort dashboard

Related reading: Differences between Cohort flavors

To use Cohort, select users from one or more apps and segment them by conversion date. Cohort metrics like revenue, ROI, and event conversion rates are available. Break the cohort down, for comparison purposes, into dimensions like campaign or media source. Doing so can uncover patterns or changes in performance over user or campaign life-cycles. See Cohort use cases

Cohort principles

  • Cohort type
    • Unified
      • The combined performance of user acquisition and retargeting campaigns (including cost and revenue).
      • If an event is attributed to both conversion types, only the retargeting event is included. Meaning, the report is generated using the actual last touch media source. If you are familiar with raw data, it means events where is_primary_attribution=true
    • User acquisition: performance data from installs (reinstalls excluded)
    • Retargeting: performance data from re-attributions or re-engagements
  •  Trend type
    • User lifetime performance: Users are grouped by conversion day. This enables you to compare user performance post-conversion, starting with the conversion day, referred to as cohort day 0. Cohort disregards the event hour and uses only the event day. A maximum of 180 cohort days display. This trend is typically used to evaluate user performance relative to the media source.
    • KPI by attribution time: Users are grouped by conversion time (date). This enables you to evaluate campaign performance over time and to view campaign KPIs relative to the conversion time (date).
  • Cost-related metrics: In Cohort cost data is included only if there is an associated attribution (install, re-engagement, or re-attribution). In other words, if a campaign incurs cost based on clicks and impressions but has no attributions the cost isn't included in cohort reports. This principle holds true for all levels of the advertising hierarchy. 
  • Granularity options
    Granularity type  Permitted period Remarks
    Days Select 1–60 days out of the previous 180 days  
    Hours Select 1–72 hours out of the previous 72 hours Cost related metrics not available

Example: User lifetime performance trend vs. KPI by attribution time trend

In this example, the same raw data is used to generate the two cohort trend types. The raw data table contains attribution events related to different users A, B, C, and D. The users engage with an ad, install the app, and post-conversion make one or more purchases. Cohort day 0 is the install day.


Metrics available

Always/ Optional 


Count cvr (conversion rate) Rate Sum Unique users
Number Percentage Percentage Number Number
Always Users (4) - - - -
Always Cost (3) - - - -
Always Average eCPI - - - -
Optional "event_name"   -
Optional Revenue - - -
Optional ROAS (3) - - - -
Optional ROI (3) - - - -
Optional Sessions (2) - - (1)
Optional Uninstalls (3) - - (-

(1) Unique sessions returns when aggregation_type=on_day
(2) Retargeting (re-engagement and re-attribution) sessions are available for sessions that occur starting from July 13, 2020. This means that sessions occurring until July 12, 2020, do not display. 
(3) Not available in the following cases:

  • View type is unified
  • Granularity is hours. Calculated daily using UTC time. 

(4)  The Users metric counts the number of attributions (installs, re-engagements, re-attributions) taking place during the selected period.   

Using Cohort

Setting up an analysis

  1. Go to Dashboard > Cohort.
    The Cohort dashboard opens. The granularity and conversion date range display.
  2. Select the granularity [default] Days or Hours
  3. Set the attribution period (user acquisition or retargeting engagement). Data relating to the most recent dates can result in partial data indicated by dashes in charts and tables.
  4. Click Edit Cohort.
    The Cohort setup window opens.


  5. Complete the following:
    • Cohort type:
      • User acquisition.
      • Retargeting
      • Unified: includes the in-app events of both user attribution and retargeting attributions. Note: retargeting events take precedence over user acquisition events meaning the report contains events where is_primary_attribution=true
    • Select a Trend type:
      • User lifetime performance. 
      • KPI by attribution time.
    • Users of the apps: Select 1–many or all (means the top-100 apps in your account). Note: Agencies can only select one app.
    • Grouped by: Select one or more dimensions [Default: Media Source]. 
    • Minimum cohort size: Set the minimum cohort size. This avoids cluttering your report with insignificant (small) cohorts. [Default=1]
    • Optional fields:
      • Filtered by: Select one or more dimensions to filter by. There are no default filters.
  6. Click Apply changes.
    The report displays.
  7. To complete the cohort setup, complete one of the trend-type procedures that follow. 
  8. [Optional] Managing saved cohort reports.

Trend type—User lifetime performance

Users are grouped into cohorts by post-conversion days. The conversion day is referred to as post-conversion day 0. The next as post-conversion day 1 and so on. The maximum number of days is 180. 


  • Select a metric, function, and per user
    Note! Not all combinations of metric, function, and per-user are available. 
    • Metrics: Revenue, Sessions, Uninstalls, ROI, In-app event, ROAS.
    • Functions: The metric is calculated using functions. The function list varies depends on the metric.
      • Sum: the total revenue on a cohort day. 
      • Count: count of events. For example, the number of sessions, number of revenue events, number of uninstalls, etc. 
      • Unique users: the unique number of users that performed an event. That means, for example, that if a user opened the app 10 times on a specific day that the result shown will be 1.
      • In-app conversion: conversion rate from install/retargeting to an in-app event. The number of unique users who perform a specific in-app event for the first time ever divided by the number of unique users in the cohort. For example, the number of [unique] users in a cohort is 100. Of these, 20 perform a specific in-app event for the first time. The In-app conversion rate is 20/100=20%. 
    • Per-user: when selected, the sum or count is divided by the number of app users.
  • Display duration: The number of cohort days to display post-conversion. Day 0 is the conversion day, Day 1 the day following conversion, and so on. Note: The display duration is truncated if the result is a future date.
  • Table or Chart: 
    • Charts display the top 5 or 10 ranked by the number of app users in the cohort. This is irrespective of the dimension displayed.
    • Tables display up to 50 rows. The users, cost, and average ECPI (effective cost per install) always display irrespective of the metric selected.
  • On day or Cumulative:
    • On day means the value of the metric for that day only.
    • On day doesn't provide Cost related metrics.
    • Cumulative means the cumulative or running total of the metric. Note! In the context of a unique users metric, it means the number of unique users having performed a given event until a given cohort day. It is not the sum of unique users of the preceding days. 

Trend type—KPI by attribution time

Users are grouped into cohorts by attribution time (date)


  • Select a metric, function, KPI days, and per user
    Note! Not all combinations of metric, function and per-user are available. 
    • Metrics: Revenue, Sessions (not available in unified view), Uninstalls, ROI, In-app event, ROAS.
    • Functions: The metric is calculated using functions. The function list varies depends on the metric.
      • Sum: the total revenue on a cohort day. 
      • Count
      • Unique users: the unique number of users that performed an event. That means, for example, that if a user opened the app 10 times on a specific day that the result shown will be 1.
      • In-app Conversion: conversion rate from install/retargeting to an in-app event. The number of unique users who perform a specific in-app event for the first time ever divided by the number of unique users in the cohort. For example, the number of [unique] users in a cohort is 100. Of these, 20 perform a specific in-app event for the first time. The In-app Conversion rate is 20/100=20%. 
    • KPI days: Select from Day 0, Day 3, Day 7, etc. Day 0 is the conversion day only. Day 3 means the conversion day and the next three days, a total of four days, likewise, for the remaining days. The KPI value is totaled for the period selected. 
    • Per-user: when selected, the sum or count is divided by the number of app users.
    • Table or Chart: Charts display the top 5 or top 10 ranked by the number of app users in the cohort. This is irrespective of the dimension displayed in the chart. Tables display up to 50 rows.
    • On day: The value only on the cohort Day specified. For example, In the case of Day 7 this means the value on post-conversion day 7.
    • Cumulative where: The combined value of all the days specified in Days. For example, in the case of Day 7, this means the total of the conversion day and the following 7 days. Note! In the context of unique users, it means the cumulative number of unique users.

List of dimensions for grouping and filtering

Dimensions for grouping and filtering
Dimension Comments Group by Filter by
Ad ID  
Adset ID  
Apps Relevant when the report contains multiple apps x
Attributed touch-type Values: Click, impression, or NA (organic)
Campaign ID  
Conversion type

Cohort type dependant:

  • User acquisition: Install
  • Retargeting: Re-engagement, Re-attribution
Country (Geo) Based on user IP address

Time: in the case of Daily granularity the date and in the case of hourly granularity the hour fo the day. 

Cohort type dependant:

  • User acquisition and unified: The time the app was launched for the first time.
  • Retargeting: The time the app was launched for the first time after re-engagement.


Install app store

Relevant for apps implementing Android multi-store attribution. Reach out to your CSM to enable this dimension. 


Search keywords provided by the integrated partners

Media source  
Revenue Type

 Regular, Ad monetization

Site Id  
Sub Param 1  

Using My reports—Save and select reports

  • My reports enable you to save the current dashboard settings for future use. 
  • Select a saved report to display the most current cohort data available.
  • You can save one or more reports.
  • Only you can access your My reports. 
Using My reports


My reports


Select a report to display the most current data available.

Save changes 

Save the report. Note: The currently selected report is overwritten. 

Action options (Elipse.png)


  • Save as new
    • Save the report using a different report name
    • [Option] Make this report default report
  • Rename: Change the report name
  • Set as default: Make the report the default report. When you open Cohort this is the report that displays initially
  • Delete: Delete the report

Partial data

Use the Real-time Cohort control to select the data display mode:

  • [Default] Real-time:
    • Attribution data updated continuously in real-time including revenue.
    • Cost data updates 6 times a day on average every four hours.
    • Partial data (indicated by dashes in reports and charts) is included
  • Daily: Data is updated daily and available a few minutes after midnight. Data of partial days does not display. 

What is partial data?

For a given day in the conversion data range, if the number of days that have elapsed since the conversion date is less than the cohort day, that cohort day contains partial data. Meaning partial data occurs on any day where the cohort day > current date-conversion date.

Export the cohort to a CSV file

To export cohort reports to CSV files:

  • In the upper-right side of the Cohort reports window, click Download.png(export).
    The cohort report CSV file is downloaded.


Cohort for agencies

  • The advertiser needs to grant the agency permission to use Cohort. 
    • To grant permission to an agency, the advertiser:
      • Goes to Configuration > Integrated Partners.
      • Select the agency.
      • Go to the permissions tab, enable Allow access to your retention and cohort reports.
  • Agencies are limited to accessing traffic generated by the agency.

Use cases

Revenue sum by country

Chart: Cumulative revenue per user


Table: Revenue per day


In-app event conversion

An advertiser defines an in-app event af_purchase. The cohort chart displays the percentage of app users in the cohort who made a mobile purchase. We can see on day 10 for instance that close to 30% (11.11%+9.71%+7.47%) of the cohort users performed a mobile purchase



Cohort FAQ
Question Answer
Can I view Apple Search Ads keyword Cost and ROI? Yes, you can.
Apple Search Ads provides us with the cost for each keyword per day broken down by Campaign/Adset/Ad. Note: Breakdown by Geo/country is not available.
For a given media source, why does the same campaign name display more than once?
  • If you use the same campaign name with campaigns having different campaign IDs then the name displays more than once. 
  • You should allocate campaign IDs unique names
  • When changing campaign names, data is aligned to the last name used.
Can I view Organic users?

Organic users, by default, are included in Cohort reports.

To limit the Cohort report to organic users only:

  1. In the Cohort dashboard, click the Edit cohort button.
  2. In the Cohort setup window set Filter by > Media source is Organic:


  3. Click Apply changes

Traits and limitations

Cohort traits and limitations
Trait Yes / No  Remarks 
Ad network access to Cohort No  
Agency access Yes
  • Limited to one app 
  • Hybrid accounts can't access Cohort
  • Require access permission on an app by app basis.
  • Can't select multiple apps
  • Access to organic data not possible
Agency transparency Yes Starting January 10, 2021
App-specific time zone Yes

Exception: In all of the following cases, AppsFlyer ignores the app-specific time zone and uses the default time zone being UTC +0:

  • The cohort report contains data from multiple apps, and the apps have different time zones.
  • The apps all have the same time zone, and the time zone for at least one of the apps changed during the cohort report period. To determine the report period:
    • Start date: The first date in the conversion date range
    • End date: Is calculated by adding the number of days in the display duration to the last date in the conversion date range. Example: Last date: Jan 1, 2019. Report duration: 30 days. End date: Jan 31, 2019.
App-specific currency  Yes Exception: All apps need to use the same currency
  • CSV download files:
    • Maximum 10,000 rows
    • Is not available for the KPI by attribution time trend.
  • Charts: display the top 5 or top 10 ordered by the number of users in the cohort
  • Tables: Display the first 50 rows ordered by the number of users in the cohort.
  • Revenue: The revenue of reinstalls of UA campaigns is not included. 
  • Cost: AppsFlyer does not report cost data for keywords that contain uppercase letters in the cohort report or cohort API.
Organic data Yes Included
Non-organic data Yes Included
Data freshness Real-time


Cost and uninstall metrics update Daily. Uninstalls are calculated once a day using UTC clock. 

Historical data Yes Earliest date supported, 720 days before the current date.
Geo/country Yes When geo is unknown (N/A), the N/A data doesn't display when aggregating by geo.
Session count Yes

Session count for Day 0 in the Retargeting view might be lower than the user count.
There are a few reasons this can happen. The most common are:

  • The  re-engagement session has already been attributed before the re-engagement is recorded. In this case, it will not be attributed to retargeting session
  • Filtering by other settings such as the Minimum time between sessions. In this case, the re-engagement is recorded. However, the sessions are filtered and won’t be recorded
Ad revenue Yes

There may be discrepancies between the ad revenue amounts displayed in the Cohort and Overview dashboards. This occurs when networks report revenue in UTC and the apps have a different timezone setting.

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